Recalls & Campaigns

Important: Takata Airbag Inflator Recalls in Canada. View Takata Airbag Inflator Recalls Information

Look Up Safety Recalls and Service Campaigns by VIN

Lexus is committed to developing technologies to ensure that you derive optimal enjoyment from your vehicle. From time to time, we may need to repair or replace a vehicle component to help maintain the quality and safety of your vehicle. As a Lexus owner or lessee, you will be notified by mail if your vehicle requires repairs or servicing and you will be instructed as to how to obtain the repair or servicing at no cost to you.

Campaigns conducted by Lexus can be Safety Recall Campaigns and/or Limited Service Campaigns. Certain Warranty Enhancement Programs may also be applicable to your vehicle.

Campaign Definitions

Safety Recall Campaign (SRC)

In accordance with the requirements of the Canadian Motor Vehicle Safety Act, when Lexus has determined that either a defect or a non-compliance with a Canadian Motor Vehicle Safety Standard which relates to motor vehicle safety exists in your vehicle, a Safety Recall Campaign is launched. The inspection and/or repair required under a Safety Recall Campaign will be performed at no charge to the vehicle owner.

Limited Service Campaign (LSC)

The purpose of a Limited Service Campaign is to offer vehicle owners an inspection and/or repair at no charge for a limited period of time in order to address a non-safety product or technical issue. Lexus encourages Guests to take advantage of all Limited Service Campaigns prior to their expiration date.

Warranty Enhancement Program (WEP)

The purpose of a Warranty Enhancement Program is to inform Guests that Lexus has enhanced the warranty coverage (time and/or mileage) on a vehicle component to further enhance customer satisfaction. Warranty Enhancement Programs have a time and/or mileage limit and a specified condition for eligibility.

If you would like to find out if your vehicle is affected by a recent safety recall or limited service campaign, please enter your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) here:

VIN:

The following campaigns are associated with this Vehicle Identification Number:

There are no outstanding campaigns associated with this Vehicle Identification Number.

Invalid VIN

This Vehicle Identification Number is not valid. Please enter a valid Canadian Lexus VIN.

Register Now

Stay current with Lexus

Register for email updates on Lexus news, lifestyle and design events, and the latest in vehicle concepts and performance

Register Now
Book an Appointment

Book an Appointment

Book your service appointment online. It’s simple, and at your convenience.

Book an Appointment

Takata Airbag Inflator Recalls in Canada

What is the issue?

A Safety Recall has been issued for certain Lexus vehicles equipped with Takata Front Passenger Airbag.

The subject vehicles are equipped with Takata airbag inflators which use a propellant that may degrade over time (time in service until significant propellant degradation may occur is projected at between 15-20 years*) and after experiencing long term exposure to fluctuating high temperatures and environmental moisture.

In some cases, inflators may also have certain manufacturing defects that enable moisture intrusion and propellant degradation. Inflator propellant degradation is accelerated in hot climates with high absolute humidity.

Propellant degradation creates excessive internal pressure when the airbag is deployed and causes the inflator to rupture. In the event of an inflator rupture, metal fragments could pass through the airbag cushion material, striking the vehicle occupants and may result in serious injury or death.

To date, there have not been any inflator ruptures from Takata airbag assemblies in Canada from any manufacturer. Canada is identified as an area having lower temperature cycling and lower absolute humidity.

What you should know...

Based on research to date, the U.S. National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration (NHTSA) has concluded that Takata inflators do not pose an unreasonable risk until they reach a certain level of propellant degradation after long-term exposure to fluctuating high temperatures and environmental moisture.

As a global recall affecting multiple manufacturers, NHTSA and Takata are prioritizing the remedy for these recalls based on geographic zones, with the highest priority placed on affected models in the areas of most extreme heat and absolute humidity, and with the longest time of exposure (i.e. early model year vehicles).

What you should do...

For the most up-to-date Safety Recall information on Lexus vehicles, Canadian customers should check their vehicle’s status by visiting www.lexus.ca/recall and entering the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).

As of mid-June 2017, Lexus Canada had provided repair for nearly all affected vehicles under the current recall (with the exception of 2007-2008 Lexus ES 350 and 2012 Lexus LFA). The remedy will consist of the replacement of the airbag inflator or the airbag assembly, depending on the vehicle model.

All known owners of the involved vehicles are notified by first class mail when a remedy is available for their vehicle.

For any additional questions, or to ensure that Lexus Canada has their current mailing information, customers are encouraged to contact the Lexus Customer Interaction Centre at Dial and Call (1 888 869‑6828) or Lexus Customer Service at Dial and Call 1 800 26-LEXUS.

To ensure that the proper customer notifications can be provided to the correct owners, Lexus Canada encourages customers to verify that all of their personal information is up to date.

(The foregoing represents the best information currently available to Lexus Canada and is subject to change if additional information is obtained by Lexus Canada.)

* According to a May 2016 NHTSA fact sheet

High absolute humidity

High absolute humidity is related to higher temperature, southern coastal areas and is not the same as high relative humidity. In North America, for example, areas with consistently high absolute humidity include U.S. states such as Florida, Hawaii and the Gulf Coast states.

NHTSA - Takata Airbag Inflator Summary of Zones
Zone A

Alabama, American Samoa, California, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, Puerto Rico, Saipan, South Carolina, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Zone B

Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington D.C., West Virginia

Zone C

Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Vehicles under current recall - Canada

Passenger Side Airbag Inflator:

Rappels et campagnes

Important: Rappels des gonfleurs de coussin gonflable Takata au Canada. Voir l’information sur les rappels des gonfleurs de coussin gonflable Takata

Recherche des rappels de sécurité et des campagnes de service par NIV

Lexus s'est engagée à développer des technologies qui vous procurent un plaisir de conduite optimal. Occasionnellement, il est possible que nous devions réparer ou remplacer un composant du véhicule afin de maintenir la qualité et la sécurité de votre véhicule. En tant que propriétaire ou locataire d’un véhicule Lexus, vous serez informé par courrier si votre véhicule a besoin de réparations ou d’entretien, et vous recevrez des directives sur la façon d’obtenir ces réparations ou cet entretien sans frais pour vous.

Les campagnes menées par Lexus peuvent être des campagnes de rappel de sécurité et/ou des campagnes de service limitées. Certains programmes d'amélioration de la garantie peuvent aussi s'appliquer à votre véhicule.

Définitions des campagnes

Campagne de rappel de sécurité (SRC)

Conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur la sécurité automobile du Canada, lorsque Lexus détermine qu'il existe sur votre véhicule un défaut relié à la sécurité automobile ou une non-conformité avec une Norme de sécurité des véhicules automobiles du Canada, elle procède au lancement d’une campagne de rappel de sécurité. L'inspection et/ou la réparation requises en vertu de la campagne de rappel de sécurité seront effectuées sans frais pour le propriétaire du véhicule.

Campagne de service limitée (LSC)

Le but d’une campagne de service limitée est d'offrir aux propriétaires de véhicules une inspection et/ou une réparation sans frais pendant une période de temps limitée afin de remédier à un problème touchant le produit ou d’ordre technique qui n’est pas relié à la sécurité. Lexus encourage les clients à profiter de toutes les campagnes de service limitées avant leur date d’expiration.

Programme d'amélioration de la garantie (WEP)

Le but du programme d’amélioration de la garantie est d'informer les clients que Lexus a amélioré la couverture de la garantie (durée et/ou kilométrage) d’un certain composant du véhicule afin d'améliorer la satisfaction de la clientèle. Ces programmes ont une durée et/ou un kilométrage limités et se rapportent à une condition spécifique.

Si vous voulez savoir si votre véhicule est touché par un récent rappel de sécurité ou une récente campagne de service limitée, veuillez entrer votre numéro d'identification du véhicule (NIV) ici :

VIN:

Les campagnes suivantes touchent ce numéro d'identification du véhicule :

Il n’existe aucune campagne à effectuer pour ce numéro d'identification du véhicule.

NIV non valide

Ce numéro d'identification de véhicule n'est pas valide. Veuillez entrer un NIV Lexus canadien valide.

S'inscrire maintenant

Restez au courant avec Lexus

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir des courriels au sujet des actualités, du style de vie Lexus et des événements du design, ainsi que des derniers véhicules concepts et haute performance

S'inscrire maintenant
Prendre rendez-vous

Prendre rendez-vous

Prenez rendez-vous en ligne pour un service d’entretien. C’est simple et commode.

Prendre rendez-vous

Rappels des gonfleurs de coussin gonflable Takata au Canada

Quel est le problème?

Un rappel de sécurité a été lancé pour certains véhicules Lexus équipés d’un coussin gonflable du passager avant Takata.

Les véhicules concernés sont équipés de gonfleurs de coussin gonflable Takata qui contiennent un propulseur pouvant se dégrader avec le temps (le nombre d’années avant une dégradation significative possible du propulseur peut être de 15 à 20 ans*) et après une exposition prolongée à l’humidité ambiante et à des fluctuations de températures élevées.

Dans certains cas, les gonfleurs peuvent aussi avoir des défauts de fabrication qui permettent à l’humidité de s’infiltrer et au propulseur de se dégrader. La dégradation du propulseur de gonfleur s’accélère sous un climat chaud dont le degré d’humidité absolue est élevé.

La dégradation du propulseur crée une pression interne excessive lorsque le coussin gonflable se déploie et cause la rupture du gonfleur. S’il y a rupture du gonfleur, des fragments de métal pourraient traverser le matériau du coussin gonflable, heurtant les occupants du véhicule et pouvant causer des blessures graves ou la mort.

À ce jour, on n’a signalé aucune rupture du gonfleur d’un assemblage de coussin gonflable Takata au Canada, tous constructeurs confondus. Le Canada se situe dans une région où les cycles de température et l’humidité absolue sont plus bas.

Ce que vous devez savoir...

D’après les enquêtes menées jusqu’à ce jour, l’agence américaine NHTSA (National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration) est arrivée à la conclusion que les gonfleurs de coussin gonflable Takata ne posent pas de risque déraisonnable tant qu’ils n’ont pas atteint un certain niveau de dégradation du propulseur après une exposition prolongée à l’humidité ambiante et à des fluctuations de températures élevées.

Puisque le rappel lancé mondialement touche plusieurs constructeurs, la NHTSA et Takata exécutent le correctif de ces rappels par ordre de priorité suivant les zones géographiques, la priorité étant accordée aux modèles conduits dans les régions où la chaleur et l’humidité absolue sont extrêmes, et dont l’exposition est la plus prolongée (c.-à-d. les véhicules dont l’année-modèle est la plus ancienne).

Ce que vous devez faire...

Pour consulter les renseignements les plus à jour au sujet des rappels de sécurité touchant les véhicules Lexus, les clients canadiens sont priés de visiter le site www.lexus.ca/rappel et d’y entrer le numéro d’identification de leur véhicule (NIV).

En date de la mi-juin 2017, Lexus Canada avait fourni une réparation à presque tous les véhicules touchés par le rappel en cours (à l'exception de Lexus ES 350 2007 et 2008 et Lexus LFA 2012). Le correctif consistera à remplacer le gonfleur de coussin gonflable ou l'assemblage du coussin gonflable, selon le modèle de véhicule.

Tous les propriétaires connus des véhicules concernés sont avisés par courrier de première classe lorsqu’un correctif est disponible pour leur véhicule.

Les clients qui ont des questions ou qui désirent s’assurer que Lexus Canada dispose de leur adresse exacte sont priés de communiquer avec le Centre d’interaction avec la clientèle de Lexus au 1 888 869‑6828 ou avec le Service à la clientèle de Lexus au 1 800 26-LEXUS.

Pour veiller à ce que le bon avis soit adressé aux propriétaires concernés, Lexus Canada encourage les clients à vérifier que tous leurs renseignements personnels sont à jour.

(Ce qui précède représente l’information la plus à jour dont dispose Lexus Canada et peut changer si d’autres renseignements viennent à sa connaissance.)

* Selon une fiche de renseignements de la NHTSA datée de mai 2016.

Humidité absolue élevée

Une humidité absolue élevée, que l’on trouve dans les régions côtières du Sud où le mercure est plus élevé, n’est pas à confondre avec une humidité relative élevée. En Amérique du Nord, par exemple, les régions où l’humidité absolue est habituellement élevée englobent la Floride, Hawaï et les états côtiers du golfe du Mexique.

NHTSA – Sommaire des zones – Gonfleurs de coussin gonflable Takata
Zone A

Alabama, American Samoa, California, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, Puerto Rico, Saipan, South Carolina, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Zone B

Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington D.C., West Virginia

Zone C

Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Véhicules touchés par le rappel en cours – Canada

Gonfleur de coussin gonflable côté passager :